As New Orleans Saints fans are still trying to figure just how the referees missed two clear penalties on a critical play in Sunday’s NFC Championship game, one optometrist is hoping to help prevent a mistake like that from ever happening again.
The eye doctor is of course referring to a play near the end of the game where Los Angeles Rams defensive back Nickell Robey-Coleman clearly interfered with Saints receiver Tommylee Lewis but no penalty was called. Had the officials made the correct call, it’s very likely the Saints would have won the game as the score was tied with under two minutes left and the Saints were in field goal range. The Rams only had one timeout left meaning the Saints could almost run the clock out before kicking for the lead.
Instead the Saints kicked the field goal, but there was enough time left for the Rams to march down field and tie the game. In overtime, the Rams kicked another field goal and advanced to the Super Bowl.
The optometrist office has continued to post about the free exams and even says they have times set aside for any official that wants to come in for an exam, indicating they’re serious about the offer.
The missed call has been described by some as the “biggest mistake in NFL history” but as Detroit Lions fans can attest to, it’s not the first time the officials have failed to make a pass interference call in a big playoff game.