Five faculty elected AAAS fellows

Five faculty elected AAAS fellows

Five Vanderbilt University faculty members have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science this year.

They are among 416 fellows from around the country selected by their peers for membership in the world’s largest general scientific society “because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”

Vanderbilt now has 130 AAAS fellows among its current and emeriti faculty. Nearly half were elected during the past six years.

“I congratulate these five exceptional biomedical faculty members on their election to this prestigious group of scholars. They are each outstanding examples and ambassadors of Vanderbilt’s distinctive culture of cross-disciplinary collaboration and academic excellence,” Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente said. “Our newest AAAS fellows exemplify the outstanding research, teaching and innovation that we seek to foster here at Vanderbilt.”

The 2018 Vanderbilt fellows are:

  • Neil Osheroff, John Coniglio Professor of Biochemistry in the School of Medicine, for distinguished contributions to the fields of DNA topology and enzymology, anticancer and antibacterial drug mechanism, and for teaching, leadership and curricular innovation in medical education;

  • Andrea Page-McCaw, associate professor of cell and developmental biology in the School of Medicine, for distinguished contributions to the field of extracellular biology, particularly the functions of matrix metalloproteinases in Drosophila;

  • Alvin Powers, Joe C. Davis Professor of Biomedical Science in the Department of Medicine and director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Center, for distinguished contributions to the field of biomedical research, particularly for using cellular and model systems to understand pancreatic biology, physiology, function and dysfunction;

  • Warren Sandberg, professor and chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and professor of surgery and biomedical informatics, for distinguished contributions to the field of medicine, particularly for comparative effectiveness research and application of process monitoring and control methods to perioperative systems; and

  • Kevin Schey, professor of biochemistry and of ophthalmology and visual sciences in the School of Medicine, for distinguished contributions to the field of biochemistry, particularly using advanced mass spectrometry methods to study molecular effects of aging in ocular tissues.

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold-and-blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 16 during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.